FR | EN
Project PROJECT HISTORY: ORIGINS
It all started in 2013, with a choreographic piece entitled BOW'T. Created by Rhodnie Désir, the piece was named a "2014 Revelation" by renowned journalist Philip Spzorer (Dance Current Magazine) and received two performance requests from the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean (Secretary General of the International Organization of La Francophonie).



The piece has graced local scenes (Arts Council tour of Montreal, Saint-Adèle, Ottawa, Toronto, etc.), as well as received international acclaim. It was the only production from North America to be presented at the 2014 Ouagadougou International Dance Festival (Burkina Faso). In BOW'T, Rhodnie touches the topics of migration and deportation, clearly bridging its historical presence with current news surrounding migrant mobilisation. By isolating the subject of deportation and deepening her gaze, she bravely addresses one of the greatest crimes against humanity: the slave trade. The idea for the BOW'T TRAIL was born in August 2014.



Let’s retrace the memory of African descendants!

Tradition: a living legacy to be preserved!

What do Jazz, Rara, Blues, Gospel, Gwoka, Bèlè, Candomblé, Tango, Rumba, Calypso, Swing, Mento have in common?

You may be able to respond with the help of the international BOW'T TRAIL project: A WORLD PREMIERE.The project will take us across many oceans, visiting 40 countries in order to reveal their rich and common heritage.



BOW'T TRAIL traces, the significant heritage of African peoples and Afro-descendants (Africa, Caribbean, Europe and North America). In each of the 40 countries, Rhodnie Désir and her team will conduct a 30-day stay where they will dedicate 10 days to cultural and educational activities. Collectively, these 10-day sessions will total 400 days of action (40 x 10 = 400). This is a symbolic reference to the more than 400 years of slavery endured by African descendants. It is a space to retrace a collective memory together.

>> Mission

The mission of BOW'T TRAIL is to awaken memory, rediscover the contributions of African descendants and acknowledging the CULTURAL DIVERSITY of contemporary societies around the world. This is accomplished using a pedagogical approach that focuses on art, history and culture. BOW'T TRAIL is dedicated to the recognition of the intangible heritage of African descendants. It is through the re-creation process (research and creation) that the BOW'T piece takes shape. Although originally rooted in Haitian traditional rhythms, the new BOW’T work will invoke the rhythms of the host nation. In order to incorporate the new rhythms, an important player is required: a drummer (musician).

>> 30 DAYS/3 STEPS

  1. J0 to J7  - Arrival in the country, meetings with partners and local actors / planning and organization of the videoshoot;
  2. J8 to J21  - Research and creation in studio with musician / drummer;
  3. J22 to J30  - Residency at a theater, performances, discussion and departure. Throughout the stay there will be cultural activities (workshops / seminars / danced conference) in the community, and in the school system (primary, secondary and university). This is a necessary and contemporary step towards achieving the objectives of the project.

>> 400 DAY COUNTDOWN - DIRECTOR: Marie-Claude Fournier

Inspired by the BOW'T TRAIL project, Marie-Claude Fournier became the honorable director and editor of this choreographic work by Rhodnie Desir. During the 30 days of each project, she will be responsible for documenting the stages of the project in detail, and help to capture interviews with people from the host culture. At the end of each voyage, a documentary episode highlighting each country will be edited and produced. The webseries will equal a total of forty 52-minute episodes that include educational content (8 minutes capsules). This content implies a concrete contribution in transmitting culture to local and international communities!

>> AWARDS

The BOW'T TRAIL is recognized by the Slave Route project (UNESCO) and has been recognized by the International Decade For People of African Decent (United Nations).

FR | EN
Projet Historique / description
Tout a commencé avec BOW’T : l’œuvre chorégraphique de Rhodnie Désir, créée en 2013, qui fut nommée « Révélation 2014 » par le réputé journaliste Philip Spzorer (Dance Current Magazine) et qui reçut deux invitations de la très honorable Michaëlle Jean (Secrétaire générale de l’Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie).



Rayonnant tant sur la scène locale (tournée du Conseil des Arts de Montréal, Saint-Adèle, Ottawa, Toronto, etc.), qu'internationale ; cette pièce fut l’unique production d’Amérique du Nord à être présentée au Festival International de danse de Ouagadougou (2014-Burkina Faso). Dans BOW’T, Rhodnie aborde le propos de la migration et de la déportation, tout en traçant un pont net entre l’actualité entourant les migrants actuellement en mouvement. Et c'est en isolant ce dernier terme déportation et en l’approfondissant qu’elle choisi d’aborder l'un des plus grand crime contre l’humanité : la traite négrière. Naquit l’idée du BOW’T TRAIL en août 2014.



Retraçons la mémoire des peuples d’ascendance africaine !

La tradition : un héritage vivant et à préserver !

Qu’ont en commun le Jazz, le Rara, le Blues, le Gospel, le Gwoka, le Bèlè, le Candomblé, le Tango, la Rumba, le Calypso, le Swing, le Mento, etc... ?

Vous risquez de pouvoir y répondre par le projet international BOW'T TRAIL : une PREMIÈRE MONDIALE. Le projet est audacieux : il allie danse, rythmique, recherche, création, histoire et une nouvelle série Web documentaire ! Dans 40 pays, il traversera les océans afin de révéler leur riches héritages culturels.



Le BOW'T TRAIL retrace à rebours, l’héritage marquant des peuples africains et afro- descendants (Afrique, Caraïbes, Europe et Amérique du Nord). Dans chacun des 40 pays, Rhodnie Désir et son équipe effectueront un séjour de 30 jours durant lesquels ils consacreront 10 jours à des actions culturelles et éducatives, pour un cumul de 400 jours d’actions à rebours (40 x 10 = 400). Le tout, en référence symbolique aux plus de 400 ans de traite négrière et d’esclavage. Un espace de rencontre porteur de mémoire.

>> LA MISSION

Retracer, réveiller et valoriser les mémoires et l’apport des peuples d’ascendance africaine à LA DIVERSITÉ CULTURELLE des sociétés contemporaines du monde. Le tout, de manière artistique, historique, éducative et culturelle. Le BOW'T TRAIL est voué à la valorisation du patrimoine immatériel des peuples ci-haut cités. C’est donc par le processus de re-création (recherche et création) de l’oeuvre BOW’T (initialement ancrée dans les rythmiques ancestrales haïtiennes) sur les rythmiques de la nouvelle destination, que le processus prend forme. Bien entendu, afin d’adapter la nouvelle oeuvre, un acteur important est nécessaire : un tambourinaire (musicien).

>> 30 JOURS / 3 ÉTAPES

  1. J0 à J7 - Arrivée au pays, rencontres avec les partenaires et les acteurs locaux / planification et organisation du tournage ;
  2. J8 à J21  - Recherche et création en studio avec le musicien / tambourinaire ;
  3. J22 à J30 - Résidence technique dans une salle de spectacle, représentation devant public et discussion, puis départ.

    Parallèlement et tout au long du séjour, des actions culturelles (ateliers / séminaires / conférences-dansées) ont lieu avec la communauté, notamment dans les réseaux scolaires afférents (primaires, secondaires et universitaires). Un maillon contemporain nécessaire à la transmission et à l’atteinte des objectifs visés par la mission.

    >> 400 JOURS À REBOURS - RÉALISATION : Marie-claude Fournier

    Inspiré par la démarche du BOW’T TRAIL, Marie-Claude Fournier est la réalisatrice à l’honneur et aux sources de la jonction du numérique avec la démarche chorégraphique de Rhodnie Désir. Ainsi, pendant les 30 jours du projet, il documente dans les moindres détails, chacun des étapes du projet et contribue à la captation d’entrevues avec les porteurs de la culture en cours. Au terme, un épisode documentaire par pays nait pour un total de 40 épisodes documentaires de 52 minutes, ainsi que du contenu éducatif (capsules de 8 minutes). Un grand pas concret permettant au BOW’T TRAIL de rayonner et de contribuer au rapprochement des collectivités locales et internationales par la culture !

    >> RECONNAISSANCES

    Le BOW’T TRAIL est reconnu par le projet La Route de l’esclave (UNESCO) et il s’inscrit dans le droit fil de la Décennie Internationale de Reconnaissance des Peuples d’Ascendance Africaine (DIPAA / Nations Unies).