FR | EN
The artistic challenge of BOW'T TRAIL BOW’T re-creation
« I deeply believe that the artistic process allows each of us to redefine ourselves through our creativity; and this is essential to bring balance to all of humanity » - Rhodnie Désir

When African slaves were deported, they carried knowledge and rhythmic memory which was reimagined when they encountered other nations. It is the same for the drums. If it was not for the genius of these beings, who continued to create, even in the worst conditions, our musical universe would surely not be as abundant! Since resistance through art was one of their emancipatory vectors, Rhodnie Desir begins this research with that same process in mind.

Thus, in each country where BOW'T TRAIL is presented, Rhodnie Desir's mission is to re-create her most important work: BOW'T. Originally, this contemporary choreography created in 2013, was originally performed as a solo piece accompanied by a drummer. It is based on a Haitian voodoo rhythmic repertoire, compositions sung in an imaginary dialect and musical arrangements designed by the choreographer. The performance lasts a total of 50 minutes without intermission.

According to this framework, the choreographer is challenged to fully adapt and recreate the rhythmic essence of BOW'T in accordance with the ancestral culture of the host country. To do this, she collaborates with a drummer and meets with several important figures from the host nation, to better grasp the cultural issues related to the history and memory of the people. Costumes are partially or even fully adapted to suit the milieu. At the end, the work is presented to the public followed by a rich cultural exchange through dialogue. Sometimes excerpts are presented throughout the process.

* Important to note: for ethical reasons, the re-creation does not, in any case, involve the borrowing of choreographic gestures for insertion into any new pieces. The purpose here is to see how Rhodnie Desir’s body and gestures will resist or evolve to meet the ancient rhythms of the land. Of course, we can find influences and similarities in the dances, but nothing is to be overtly copied.

The original BOW'T

Traditional rhythms :  Haïtian Vodoo rythmics
Passage of BOW’T TRAIL : none

The original BOW'T was created at the GESU-Centre de créativité (Montreal / Canada) from 2012 to 2013. This version has been performed at least 25 times since its creation (full / excerpts) and is presently under the musical guidance of master percussionist, Ronald Nazaire.

BOW'T Martinique

Traditional rhythms : Bèlè-Danmyé rythmics
Passage of BOW’T TRAIL : December 29, 2015 to February 2, 2016

For this step and over a period of 3 weeks, the choreographer worked with drummer Alain Pinel-Féréol. The first two weeks were held at the Maison Rouge/Maison des Arts. The last phase took place at the Domaine de Fonds Saint-Jacques in order to review the lighting and sound cues for the show (technical residency).

FR | EN
Le défi artistique du BOW'T TRAIL La ré-création de l'oeuvre Bow't
« Je crois profondément que le processus de création artistique nous permet, à notre tour, de nous créer; et qu’il est essentiel à l’équilibre de l’humanité » - Rhodnie Désir

Lorsque les africains mis en esclavage furent déportés, ils transportèrent tout un savoir et une mémoire rythmique avec eux, qui se re-créa à la rencontre d’autres nations. Il en va de même pour les tambours. Et si ce n’était du génie de ces êtres, qui même dans les pires conditions continuaient de créer pour se re-créer, notre univers musical n’en serait surement pas aussi foisonnant! Si la résistance par l’art était l’un de leurs vecteurs d’émancipation, c’est donc par ce même processus que Rhodnie Désir entame ce processus de recherche.

Ainsi, dans chacun des pays où le BOW’T TRAIL fait escale, Rhodnie Désir se donne pour mission de re-créer son oeuvre phare BOW’T. Originellement, cette chorégraphie contemporaine, créée en 2013, est un solo dansé (1 danseur) et tambouriné (1 musicien). Il s’appuie sur un répertoire de rythmiques haïtiennes vaudou, des compositions chantées dans un dialecte imaginaire et des arrangements musicaux conçus par la chorégraphe. Le tout, pour un total de 50 minutes sans entracte.

À partir de ce canevas, la chorégraphe se donne pour défi de revoir en entier* et de réadapter le corps rythmique de BOW’T à la culture ancestrale (ou l’une des cultures) du pays d’escale. Pour ce faire, elle collabore avec un tambourinaire et rencontre plusieurs porteurs de la culture afin de s’imprégner des enjeux culturels liés à l’histoire et à la mémoire du peuple. Également, le costume est revu partiellement ou en entier. Au terme, et parfois pendant ce processus, l’oeuvre est présentée devant public et le tout est suivi d’un riche échange.

* Fait à noter : par souci d’éthique, la re-création n’implique en aucun cas, la reprise de gestes chorégraphiques pour l’insertion dans la nouvelle oeuvre. La question ici est plus devoir comment le corps de Rhodnie Désir et sa gestuelle résisteront ou évolueront à la rencontre de cette rythmique ancestrale. Bien sûr, nous pourrons retrouver des influences dansées et des similitudes, mais non des reprises.

BOW'T version originale

Tradition rythmique :  rythmiques haïtiennes vodou
Passage du BOW'T TRAIL : aucune

L'originale de BOW'T fut créée au GESU-Centre de créativité (Montréal/Canada) de 2012 à 2013. Cette version qui fut présenté près de 25 fois depuis sa création (intégrale/extraits) est actuallement accompagnée par le maestro tambourinaire Ronald Nazaire.

BOW'T Martinique

Tradition rythmique : rythmiques Bèlè-Danmyé
Passage du BOW'T TRAIL : du 29 décembre 2015 au 2 février 2016

Pour cette étape et sur une période de 3 semaines, la chorégraphe a collaboré avec le tambouyé Alain Pinel-Féréol. Les deux premières semaines eurent lieu à la Maison Rouge-Maison des Arts (recherche et création en studio), et la dernière étape eu lieu au Domaine de Fonds Saint-Jacques afin de revoir la conception d'éclairages et les repères sonores de l'oeuvre (résidence technique).